Cautiously waiting for the Big day!

My ultrasound went well and my boy is measuring right on track! Phew!

Doctors in our country are not too interested to let women have natural delivery. I figured that is mostly because of the following reasons: 

 

  1. They do not want to take the minimum risks involved in the natural birth. If something goes wrong reputation of the whole hospital goes down.
  2. Since the number of doctors compared to ladies giving birth is very inadequate so they prefer having C-Sections done on days when it is convenient for them.
  3. They are definitely getting paid much higher for the C-Sections.

No matter how bad it sounds things are like this in developing countries. I would definitely like to have a natural delivery but I do not have the guts to insist if my doctor says it’s going to be a C-Section. I know there is not going to be any epidural or any other pain relief if I opt for a natural birth but I am ready to do this – what’s the point of having a major surgery like C-Section if I really don’t need one!

Anyway the only hope I have for natural birth if I go into labor naturally before my due date. They are not going to induce me or let go past the due date that’s for sure.

I wanted to write about the preparation we have taken so far for the baby. If I have to tell you the truth I haven’t done anything. New born babies do not have separate rooms for themselves here – I mean even if some one chooses to decorate one for their baby; the baby will co sleep with them for few months. We don’t have an extra room in our house – we could get our store room but I don’t want to have a separate room for him yet.

I have got one co sleeper which is under lock and key (nobody except for CJ and me knows about it). Got few clothes and random staffs like one bib, a pair of socks (those were bought after each successful ultrasounds) and I haven’t washed them yet.

I know it’s very silly to be scared when I have made this so far. I truly sincerely do not even want to think about the things that can go wrong now – but the thoughts keep coming back to me. I have still got myself living on a secluded land about the whole pregnancy thing and I don’t think I can come out of it until I hold the crying baby in my arms.

I plan to get my hospital bag packed before January 3rd, that’s when my next appointment with the doctor is. Before that I will only buy things that are absolutely necessary for the baby. Hopefully when the baby arrives I can ask CJ to get the rest of the things for me and baby.

One Response

  1. I’m so glad the ultrasound went well!

    I know just what you mean about not wanting to dwell on the scary stuff, but still feeling nervous. It will be a happy day when we both have healthy babies to take home. Not long now!

Leave a Reply

