One more week to go!

I wasn’t sick or anything. But I guess that’s what kept me from blogging. It has become a place for me to rant and vent so I usually don’t find anything to update if things are going fine (touch wood)!

During January we are going to the doctor on weekly basis. And in the last appointment my super busy doctor actually told us that he doesn’t want to wait any longer and would like to have the c-section done after 39 weeks (he will let us know the final date on our 39th week appointment).

I was full of mixed feelings. I know there is no apparent medical reason for me to have the surgery yet. The baby is nicely head down and putting a lot of pressure on my pelvis. I don’t have high blood pressure or not diabetic and the reason that I had two early miscarriages before does not seem reason good enough to me to have the c-section.

I understand it is probably safer in countries like ours to have a c-section than a vaginal birth. I know sounds crazy but the reason is most hospitals are not well equipped to do something in case anything goes wrong during the natural birth. But still people are having natural birth here safely in most of the cases and I would really like to be one of them!

CJ is also scared about natural birth since recently two of his colleagues lost their full term babies during natural birth. One was due to cord strangulation and another due to suffocation around 42 weeks. I know these are extreme rare cases but CJ actually asked the doctor if we could have the surgery this week! I was so mad at him! Thank God the doctor refused saying let the baby get more matured as I am doing fine.

I know it’s kind of gross but during pregnancy I felt relieved comparing my lady part with the mouth of an Anaconda. As I have watched on TV, the snake is actually capable of swallowing something ten times the size of his mouth and how nicely the elastic mouth accommodates the big meal! I know my lady part was not going to do that while getting the baby out (I really wish it did) and most probably end up like something from which a big bullet just came out and it’s gonna hurt like hell. But somehow I am always scared of an incision. I heard from a lot of people that healing from c-section is very difficult and it will have permanent effect on my body like I will never be able to lift anything heavy! God knows how much truth is there because I have been so busy staying pregnant the whole time I just realize now that I did not make any plans or research for the birth!

How nice!

3 Responses

  1. I cannot believe you are this close!! Hopefully you will have the birth experience you are comfortable with and one which results in a healthy, screaming baby!!

  2. One week! Wow. I’m so happy for you! I understand not wanting a c-section…I would love to never have to undergo that, but ultimately, a healthy baby coming home is the end goal, no matter how you get there!

  3. Oh my gosh, so close! I don’t know anything about the medical system in your country, but I’m sorry the choice brings up so many scary issues. Whatever you go with, I hope with all my heart that you’re bringing home a healthy baby this time next week!

    I love the anaconda reference. It’s actually pretty close–I was amazed at how much things would stretch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

